365 films in 2016: film 67 (spiderman 2002)

2002-Rami-Maguire-Spider-man-movie-photo-of-spider-man.pngIn my humble opinion the first two spiderman movies were perfect superhero movies, in fact they’re the only superhero movies I like (Chris Nolan’s batman trilogy doesn’t count and I’ll explain why when I get round to re-watching them at some point this year).

There’s so many things that are just great about this movie that I can’t even list them all, but one thing I love is the casting in the film is spot on, Toby MaGuire is one of my favourite actors and he nails the perfect amount of nerdy and cool to play Peter Parker, I believe that he gets picked on and stumbles onto things and is just generally awkward, that’s what the reboot did so poorly, I had no reason to believe Andrew Garfield was Peter Parker because he was just too cool, like he wore thrasher tees and skated and was into film photography, that literally screams cool guy.

Unfortunately the film isn’t perfect, it has some really cheesy lines at times and a few cringe worthy shots that scream early 2000s which when teamed up with some not so great cgi (I mean seriously the shadows are just non existent on some of the models) it can really date itself. But that’s just nit picking, I love this movie and Sam Raimi did a great job, spiderman is a 8/10.

In 2016 i will be watching 365 films (yes, i know there are 366 days this year) and writing about how I felt about them, I decided to do this just because over the last year or so i’ve Sort of pulled away from film and I wanna start to enjoy watching movies again. This will normally be just notes I made or thoughts I have about the film.

Leave a Reply

