365 films in 2016: film 47 (Chinatown 1974)

Screen Shot 2016-03-06 at 20.43.53Chinatown is often regarded as a perfect script, so much so that the script gets studied in classes around the world. So what is it about this piece of noir that makes it so classic and worshiped? Well unfortunately I can’t tell you, though I love noir and mystery films Chinatown is not my favourite noir or mystery film, I think there are better films from that era of film which sure, might not be written as well but overall as a piece of cinema it feels better. But what I will say is Chinatown is effortlessly cool, the film embodies the era of noir so perfectly, it’s a timepiece really.

What really trips Chinatown up for me is the reveal in the third act, it just feels kind of underwhelming, but It makes up for that with one of the smartest endings I’ve ever seen in a noir film in terms of sound design, the long and symbolic noise of the car horn going off in the final scene was the perfect way to end Chinatown. Chinatown is a great film, and if i had to describe it the only way i could is by telling you it feels really cool, just make sure you avoid all the hype before watching. Chinatown is a 7\10.

 

In 2016 i will be watching 365 films (yes, i know there are 366 days this year) and writing about how I felt about them, I decided to do this just because over the last year or so i’ve Sort of pulled away from film and I wanna start to enjoy watching movies again. This will normally be just notes I made or thoughts I have about the film.

Leave a Reply

