365 films in 2016: film 44 (Rushmore 1998)

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 19.41.16Wes Anderson is one of the directors that turned me onto the idea that a great film doesn’t have to be a dark thriller with an ending that makes the viewer question themselves, anderson’s style of light hearted smart-funny movies really made an impact on me around the age of 14/15 and made me pay more attention to cinematography.

In fact Rushmore is one of those films, this film plays out like clockwork, it’s seamless. The camerawork perfectly introduces you to the idea of Rushmore’s impeccable presentation and what this school is supposed to represent. As you’d expect Rushmore’s colour pallet is beautiful with deep blues and contrasting greens, Rushmore is visual candy. As for the characters they’re exactly what you’d expect from Anderson, very cute, very likeable, very Wes Anderson.

I don’t have a lot to say about Rushmore really, it’s just a really fun film and every time I watch it I like it a little more for different reasons, though Rushmore isn’t my favourite Anderson film anymore it’s still a fantastic movie. Rushmore is a 8/10.

In 2016 i will be watching 365 films (yes, i know there are 366 days this year) and writing about how I felt about them, I decided to do this just because over the last year or so i’ve Sort of pulled away from film and I wanna start to enjoy watching movies again. This will normally be just notes I made or thoughts I have about the film.

One thought on “365 films in 2016: film 44 (Rushmore 1998)

Leave a Reply

