365 films in 2016: film 39 (I’m Here 2010)

Screen Shot 2016-02-25 at 21.38.35.pngI’m gonna start this post by saying I know this is a short film and it probably shouldn’t count towards my 365 films but I’m like 20 films behind at this point and I make the rules so deal with it. I love Spike Jonze, he’s one of my favourite people, if I could have a career like anyone’s it would be spike’s. He’s worked in photography, skateboarding, fashion and filmmaking, and generally just makes whatever he wants to make. Ever since I discovered his work I’ve been fascinated with him, like how has this guy turned all of my interests into a career and maintained respectability in every industry he’s worked in? Unfortunately I don’t have the answer to this so I will move on to the film.

From a glimpse I’m Here is a short film about love between two robots and nothing more, but when we actually look at it deeper there are a lot of themes in I’m Here that we see today in the real world. See the old lady shouting at the robots driving a car, telling them they shouldn’t be doing that, or the police officer stepping over the badly wounded robot on the floor without offering to help, Jonze is trying to say although these robots have complex emotions and feelings they still get treated like second class citizens that don’t deserve to be treated equally. Another thing we see is the relationship between Sheldon and Francesca. From the exterior it looks like two people who are madly in love and Sheldon will do anything from here, but if we look deeper again we can see that there is probably a darker story behind Francesca’s injuries, they never happen on screen and she never gives sheldon a reason or explanation for these events. The way we can see that this is the case and not just speculation is by looking at the scene where sheldon and Francesca speak for the first time and she falls but is fine, but after she starts to date Sheldon she gets increasingly more wounded, I think Spike is trying to say that Francesca is ultimately self destructive and though Sheldon can’t see it she’s destructive for him because he will do anything for her, but that’s just what I get from I’m Here.

I’m Here is a great short film that really solidifies Spike Jonze as one of my favourite filmmakers, a lot of elements we see in Her can be traced back to I’m Here, which is probably why Her is one of my favourite films. I’m Here is like a coin, if you look at it from one angle you’ll see one story, but if you look at it from another you’ll get the total opposite, this film is a 7/10.

In 2016 i will be watching 365 films (yes, i know there are 366 days this year) and writing about how I felt about them, I decided to do this just because over the last year or so i’ve Sort of pulled away from film and I wanna start to enjoy watching movies again. This will normally be just notes I made or thoughts I have about the film.

Leave a Reply

