365 films in 2016: film 30 (Fargo 1996)


Two Coen brothers films in one week what a time to be alive, Surprisingly I had never seen Fargo till last night, and well, it was what I expected.

Fargo was consistent, like most Coen brothers films, there isn’t much to say about Fargo that hasn’t already been said and I don’t have much time so I’ll keep this one short, Fargo is another quirky semi dark comedy by Joel and Ethan that has become a staple in their filmography, the casting in the film was perfect, Steve Buscemi and William H. Macy pull out some of the best performances of their career and really make this film, the small polite town atmosphere is Fargo, you feel like this is the kind of town where people are born there and die there with no greater ambitions outside of their town.
A lot of people compare the Coen brothers to Shakespeare, and while I do see the connection I think it’s a bit of a stretch, they are without a doubt great at writing thought provoking tragedies such as Fargo but the Coens still suffer from the same thing they have been dealing with for the last 20 years: the slow paced second act, I felt myself getting more bored the further the second act went on, but that being said I do feel like second viewing would help me form my opinion on this film better.
Fargo is a tragedy story with some tremendous performances that unfortunately suffers from the same pacing issues a lot of Coen brothers films do. Fargo is a 7/10.

In 2016 i will be watching 365 films (yes, i know there are 366 days this year) and writing about how I felt about them, I decided to do this just because over the last year or so i’ve Sort of pulled away from film and I wanna start to enjoy watching movies again. This will normally be just notes I made or thoughts I have about the film.

Leave a Reply

