365 films in 2016: film 16 (The Man Who Wasn’t There 2001)

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 21.05.29The Coen brothers are kind an anomaly, they’re not quite household names but they are among the most highly praised filmmakers in Hollywood today. But for some reason I don’t get as blown away by their movies as other people do, I mean I do really like their films and I love their style but I’ve never finished one of their films and been blown away, maybe I’m looking too far into it or have unreasonably high standards, but regardless of that The Man Who Wasn’t There is a great film, occasionally in films an actor will get a role that’s perfect for them in every way. This is definitely the case will Billy Bob Thornton as Ed Crane, Thornton plays a monotone, quiet, drole barber that blackmails some money from his wife’s boss and then a string of unfortunate events start to unravel.

I’ve always thought the Coen brothers were great at doing what you don’t expect them to do, by that I mean they’ll write a character and then at some point make them do something you wouldn’t think they would ever do, and of course this is no exception. The Man Who Wasn’t There is a very aesthetically pleasing film too, it’s shot beautifully and the use of lighting in the movie is fantastic, this teamed up with a colour film that was turned black and white in post and you get 2 hours of eye candy, watching The Man Who Wasn’t There is like taking a walk though post war America, there’s a great feeling of prosperity in the air which contrasts with Crane’s almost aimless attitude, he doesn’t really like anything, he’s lost in the world and he doesn’t really care about it, one of the characters states that ‘this is modern man’ when talking about Crane and I kinda like that.

The Man Who Wasn’t There is a great, beautifully shot movie that everyone should watch if they’re looking for an introduction into the Coen brothers, The Man Who Isn’t There is a 7/10.

In 2016 i will be watching 365 films (yes, i know there are 366 days this year) and writing about how I felt about them, I decided to do this just because over the last year or so i’ve Sort of pulled away from film and I wanna start to enjoy watching movies again. This will normally be just notes I made or thoughts I have about the film.

Leave a Reply

