365 films in 2016: film 9 (Captain Phillips 2013)

captain-phillips-1Captain Phillips is a film that’s been sitting on my watchlist for the last 2ish years now, it’s been sitting there waiting to get watched while I re-watch other films countless times but from a combination of my girlfriend recommending it to me a few days prior and me wanting to watch something around 2 hours long I decided to finally go for it, and let me tell you that was an intense experience from (almost) start to finish, I didn’t really think it was going to be bad since worlds nicest man Tom Hanks was playing the starring role and pretty much every time this film comes up in conversation people say ‘you haven’t seen it? It’s really good!’ The film tries to do some things that don’t really work and fall flat on their face but I’ll get back to that later, Tom Hanks’ performance is stellar the scene with the doctor towards the end of the film really blew me away with how dynamic Hanks can be, it’s rare that an actor really convinces me that they are a character and not just playing a role but that scene really did it for me. What kind of killed the film for me is that knowing the real Captain Phillips was literally the polar opposite of what Hanks plays in the movie, which is standard fare for Hollywood but from reading what the real crew of the ship had to say, it kind of pulls you out of the experience being set up for you. There were some really good things the film did that could have been so much better if they were given just a bit more screen time, like the film tries to show you that the Somalis aren’t doing this because they want to, they’re doing it because they don’t have a choice and maybe we should be thinking about that, but instead of dedicating a scene to this Paul Greengrass decides to split the conversation up into 2-3 few second long conversations that don’t really give you enough time to feel sympathy for Muse and his crew. I did really enjoy captain Philips and Tom hanks’ performance but the film did have its fair share of short comings, Captain Philips is a 7.5/10 but could have easily been an 8/10.

In 2016 i will be watching 365 films (yes, i know there are 366 days this year) and writing about how I felt about them, I decided to do this just because over the last year or so i’ve Sort of pulled away from film and I wanna start to enjoy watching movies again. This will normally be just notes I made or thoughts I have about the film.

Leave a Reply

