365 films in 2016: film 7 (Ghostbusters 2 1989)

ghostbusters-iiAfter 6 days of watching a film every day I finally hit my first bad film, it was inevitable really, I mean out of 365 films one of them at least has to be bad, that being said I did pick the first 6 films because I had already seen them and liked them so make what you will of that. Anyone who likes 80s cult movies will tell you that Ghostbusters 2 is a bad film, and I don’t think I really wanted to accept that, which is probably why I held off watching it for a few years until now. I’m crazy about the original (but I will always have a soft spot for hollywood’s most underrated comedy actor of all time, Rick moranis) it was a good fun movie that probably blew a lot of people’s minds when it came out but to me watching it in the 2000s it was just a kinda goofy 80s comedy (I mean that in a good way) so I guess me not wanting to believe the sequel was bad is kind of justified, I mean I don’t hate the Star Wars prequels with a burning passion like 99% of the Internet, that being said I don’t like them either but if someone asked me to have a prequel marathon I’d probably say yes to that over like, a Lord of the rings marathon (I know, sorry). But anyway the movie, the gang is back and not as good as last time, ghostbusters 2 is really really really really disappointing, which is annoying cause I really enjoyed the first 20 minutes, there are some good moments here and there where Dan Aykroyd’s comedy genius shines through but for the most part Ghostbusters 2 may aswell be called Bill Murray foreshadows his performance in the Garfield movies-usters 2. The corny ‘happiness is the answer’ or whatever message that goes though the movie is super annoying and I really expect more from an 80s comedy dream team of writers and actors, I don’t really have anything else to say so this film was a 5/10, maybe 6/10 if you’re into cheesy writing and annoying characters that don’t do anything. Also according to Ghostbusters 2 the world is gonna end february 14th this year, i know valentine’s day, bummer.

In 2016 i will be watching 365 films (yes, i know there are 366 days this year) and writing about how I felt about them, I decided to do this just because over the last year or so i’ve Sort of pulled away from film and I wanna start to enjoy watching movies again. This will normally be just notes I made or thoughts I have about the film.

Leave a Reply

